Recruiting guide
Recruiting a dermatologist.
Residency positions in dermatology are few, so each graduating class is small and heavily courted. A practice hiring one is bidding against investor-backed groups that buy practices and against cosmetic clinics where the work pays in cash.
Verified
What does a dermatologist earn?
- Mean annual wage
- $323,530
- Median annual wage
- $328,730
- Employed nationally
- 11,370
Dermatologists (SOC 29-1213), BLS, May 2025 release, published May 15, 2026: May 2025 National Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates, Excel file (oesm25nat.zip), U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Verified
Highest mean wage, by state
| State | Mean annual wage | Employment |
|---|---|---|
| Minnesota | $510,270 | 260 |
| Wisconsin | $459,550 | 160 |
| New Hampshire | $438,070 | 50 |
Verified
Most employed, by state
| State | Employment | Mean annual wage |
|---|---|---|
| New York | 2,070 | $334,230 |
| North Carolina | 800 | $360,910 |
| Texas | 780 | $291,630 |
Ranked among the states and the District of Columbia where BLS publishes both the mean wage and the employment figure; 36 of the 51 are left out because BLS withholds or top-codes a figure or has no row. The dermatology salary page has every state, the metro areas and BLS’s caveats.
The BLS mean for dermatologists is $323,530 (BLS, May 2025 release) a year and the median $328,730 (BLS, May 2025 release), across roughly 11,370 (BLS, May 2025 release) on payrolls. Dermatologists who own an unincorporated practice are not in the count, so these are the earnings of employed dermatologists.
Packages are usually a base salary for the first year or two, then a share of collections. Candidates compare the collections percentage, how cosmetic and procedural revenue is credited, and whether the practice employs physician assistants whose work counts toward the physician's production. The state tables below show where payroll dermatologists earn most; cosmetic income can move an individual offer far from those figures.
Where do dermatologists look for jobs?
- Where new hires come from
- New hires come from residency or after a fellowship
- Who employs them
- Independent and partnership practices, investor-backed dermatology groups, academic departments, multispecialty groups, and cosmetic and aesthetic clinics.
- Who you compete with for candidates
- Private equity platforms that offer equity in the parent company, and cash-pay cosmetic practices that promise shorter days and no insurance paperwork.
Most dermatology hiring still happens through people rather than postings. Residents rely on their program faculty and on dermatologists they met during rotations. Mohs surgeons finish a fellowship after residency and are recruited by name through that small network.
Experienced dermatologists move when an acquisition changes their pay or autonomy. A practice that stays independent can say so in its posting; that is a reason to call for many candidates.
Job boards that carry dermatology
| Board | Specialties | How it charges | Price as recorded | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CareerMD | All specialties | Free | Free | CareerMD job database page |
| DocCafe | All specialties | Price on request | Quote on request | DocCafe employer FAQ |
| Doximity Talent Finder | All specialties | Price on request | Quote on request | Doximity Talent Finder page |
| Health eCareers | All specialties | Price on request | Not shown on its pages | Health eCareers employer store |
| HospitalRecruiting | All specialties | Per posting | $150 per 90-day posting | HospitalRecruiting pricing page |
| Indeed | All specialties | Free, with paid options | Free post; Sponsored Job budget set per job | Indeed pricing page |
| JAMA Career Center | All specialties | Per posting | $533 per 30-day posting | JAMA Career Center pricing page |
| LinkedIn Jobs | All specialties | Price on request | Varies; not listed | LinkedIn post jobs page |
| NEJM CareerCenter | All specialties | Per posting | $775 per 30-day posting | NEJM CareerCenter pricing page |
| PhysEmp | All specialties | Subscription | $150 per month | PhysEmp post a job page |
| PracticeLink | All specialties | Price on request | Quote on request | PracticeLink job posting page |
| PracticeMatch | All specialties | Per posting | $299 per 30-day posting | PracticeMatch job posting page |
| ZipRecruiter | All specialties | Price on request | Not listed | ZipRecruiter plans page |
Every board’s listing, with its posting lengths and how CV access is sold, is in the job board directory; what a physician job posting costs compares them.
Locum tenens agencies that place physicians in every specialty
| Agency | Specialties as the agency states them | How it charges | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| All Star Healthcare Solutions | More than 85 specialties | Price on request | All Star Healthcare Solutions home page |
| Alumni Healthcare Staffing | Not stated | Price on request | Alumni Healthcare Staffing page for facilities |
| AMN Healthcare | Not stated | Price on request | AMN Healthcare locum tenens staffing page |
| Aya Locums | Not stated | Price on request | Aya Locums home page |
| Barton Associates | 12 specialties and 149 subspecialties | Price on request | Barton Associates home page |
| CompHealth | Not stated | Price on request | CompHealth page for employers |
| Consilium Staffing | Anesthesiology, cardiology, emergency medicine, family medicine, gastroenterology, hospital medicine, internal medicine, neurology, OB-GYN and more | Price on request | Consilium Staffing home page |
| Hayes Locums | Not stated | Price on request | Hayes Locums page for medical facilities |
| Interim Physicians | Not stated | Price on request | Interim Physicians coverage request page |
| Jackson and Coker | Virtually every major specialty; more than 1,500 placements a year, as it states | Price on request | Jackson and Coker home page |
| LocumTenens.com | More than 60 physician specialties | Free, with paid options | LocumTenens.com physician staffing page |
| Medicus Healthcare Solutions | Not stated | Price on request | Medicus Healthcare Solutions home page |
| VISTA Staffing Solutions | Over 60 specialties | Price on request | VISTA Staffing Solutions home page |
| Wapiti Medical Staffing | Physicians (MD and DO), physician assistants and other clinicians | Price on request | Wapiti Medical Staffing home page |
| Weatherby Healthcare | More than 100 specialties | Price on request | Weatherby Healthcare home page |
The locum agency directory has each agency’s states, malpractice coverage and physician pay where it states them.
What does an open dermatology position cost?
The worked example
The recruitment cost calculator’s own example with dermatology chosen: a position open 120 days, a locum covering 60 of them at 40 hours a week, one posting on each of CareerMD, DocCafe, NEJM CareerCenter and PracticeMatch for the whole time, and a contingency agency as well.
- Revenue the empty schedule does not bring in
- No published figure: needs yours
- Locum cover, physician pay only
- $77,143 to $102,857 (estimate from Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025)
- Agency fee
- $64,706 to $97,059 (estimate from MedStaff Nationwide, 2026)
- Job board spend
- $4,296, plus a quote
- Total, boards and agency
- $146,145 to $204,212 (estimate from Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025; MedStaff Nationwide, 2026)
The total leaves out the revenue the empty schedule does not bring in and one board priced by quote: the calculator has no published figure there for dermatology, so it asks for yours.
Figures from the recruitment cost calculator, with each published figure’s publisher and year beside it; the days, the locum cover and the boards are the calculator’s example choices, not a recommendation.
What the calculator has for dermatology
- Revenue one physician brings in: no published figure, so you supply the annual revenue one physician in the specialty brings your organization
- Locum pay: $225 to $300 an hour (estimate, Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025)
- First-year pay: $323,530 a year (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2025)
- Contingency agency fee: 20 to 30% of first-year pay (estimate, MedStaff Nationwide, 2026)
The calculator has no published revenue figure for dermatology, so the worked example leaves that line for you. Fill it with your own collections per dermatologist: a full schedule of medical dermatology, biopsies and procedures, with the pathology and cosmetic revenue your structure credits to the physician.
Locum dermatologists exist but are scarce, priced at $225 to $300 (estimate, Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025) an hour in physician pay alone. The more common cost of a vacancy is the waiting list: new patients booked months out drift to another practice, and referring primary care physicians start sending skin checks elsewhere.
Which recruiting channels work for dermatology?
With classes this small, a practice that waits for applications rarely sees many. The search works best when a partner calls program directors early, hosts residents for an elective, and tells candidates plainly how the practice is owned.
Verified
The channels that fit, compared
| Channel | What it costs | What to decide |
|---|---|---|
| Residency program relationships | Partner time, elective rotations and an occasional lecture at the program; no fee | Which programs you can visit each year, and who in the practice will keep in touch with the residents. |
| General physician job boards | NEJM CareerCenter: $775 per 30-day posting | Whether a posting on a broad board will reach dermatologists at all, or whether a targeted search is the better spend. |
| Retained or contingency search | 20 to 30% of first-year pay (estimate, MedStaff Nationwide, 2026) | Whether you need a firm to find experienced dermatologists who are not looking, and whether to pay a retainer for that. |
| Hiring through a practice sale or affiliation | Legal and valuation fees; the price of a practice or a share of it | Whether buying a retiring dermatologist's practice brings the patients and the physician time you are short of. |
Questions to ask
- How long is the wait for a new medical dermatology patient today?
- Can you put the ownership structure, and any plan to sell, in writing for a candidate?
- How are cosmetic, Mohs and pathology revenue credited to the physician who generates them?
- Which residency programs have you hosted a resident from in the last two years?
Which rules bite dermatology recruiting?
Two things in a dermatology offer draw federal attention: covenants written into acquisition and employment contracts, and how in-office laboratory and procedure revenue reaches the physician.
Every federal rule this site cites, grouped by what a practice or recruiter is doing, is on the federal rules page. For the contract itself (pay models, tail coverage, restrictive covenants), read the physician employment contract, clause by clause. These notes describe the rules and cite them; they are not legal advice for a particular offer or contract.
Questions recruiters ask about dermatologists.
How long does it take to recruit a dermatologist?
Plan on most of a year for a new graduate, since residents commit early in their final year. For an experienced dermatologist the timing usually follows a contract or covenant expiring, which you learn only by asking.
What does a dermatology recruiter charge?
Contingency firms bill a share of first-year pay, and the calculator works with 20 to 30% (estimate, MedStaff Nationwide, 2026) of first-year pay. Retained firms charge part of the fee up front and are used mostly for experienced or Mohs-trained dermatologists.
Where do dermatologists look for jobs?
Mostly through their residency faculty and colleagues, then on general physician boards; the job board directory lists those boards with their prices. Mohs surgeons hear of openings through their fellowship network.
Sources
Job board and agency facts are cited row by row in their tables. The guide was last checked on .
- FTC: Chairman Ferguson issues noncompete warning letters to healthcare employers and staffing companies read
- HHS-OIG: A roadmap for new physicians, fraud and abuse laws read
- CMS: Physician Self-Referral read
- May 2025 National Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates, Excel file (oesm25nat.zip), U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics read
- May 2025 State Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates, Excel file (oesm25st.zip), U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics read
- Locumstory: locum tenens trends by specialty read
- MedStaff Nationwide: how much do physician recruiters charge? read