Recruiting guide
Recruiting an ophthalmologist.
An eye practice usually knows exactly what it needs: a comprehensive ophthalmologist to take on cataract volume, or a retina specialist because injections are booked weeks out. Many practices now belong to investor-backed platforms, and independent practices recruit against them.
Verified
What does an ophthalmologist earn?
- Mean annual wage
- $304,650
- Median annual wage
- $300,080
- Employed nationally
- 8,950
Ophthalmologists, Except Pediatric (SOC 29-1241), BLS, May 2025 release, published May 15, 2026: May 2025 National Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates, Excel file (oesm25nat.zip), U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Verified
Highest mean wage, by state
| State | Mean annual wage | Employment |
|---|---|---|
| Florida | $391,060 | 580 |
| Minnesota | $373,600 | 180 |
| Oregon | $357,880 | 210 |
Verified
Most employed, by state
| State | Employment | Mean annual wage |
|---|---|---|
| New York | 960 | $353,390 |
| California | 820 | $347,690 |
| Illinois | 620 | $260,500 |
Ranked among the states and the District of Columbia where BLS publishes both the mean wage and the employment figure; 23 of the 51 are left out because BLS withholds or top-codes a figure or has no row. The ophthalmology salary page has every state, the metro areas and BLS’s caveats.
Ophthalmologists other than pediatric ones have a BLS mean of $304,650 (BLS, May 2025 release) a year and a median of $300,080 (BLS, May 2025 release), across about 8,950 (BLS, May 2025 release) on payrolls. Practice owners who are not incorporated fall outside the survey.
Offers combine a salary for the first years with a production bonus based on collections, and partnership brings a share of optical, surgery center and drug revenue. Retina specialists' production depends heavily on injectable drugs, which candidates ask about directly.
Where do ophthalmologists look for jobs?
- Where new hires come from
- New hires come from residency or after a fellowship
- Who employs them
- Independent ophthalmology practices, investor-backed eye care platforms, practices that combine optometrists and ophthalmologists, academic centers and multispecialty groups.
- Who you compete with for candidates
- Platforms offering equity and support staff, practices with their own surgery centers, and academic centers for subspecialists.
Comprehensive ophthalmologists can enter practice after residency, while retina, glaucoma, cornea, oculoplastic and pediatric ophthalmologists add a fellowship. A practice short on retina capacity recruits fellows a year ahead.
Candidates rely on faculty, fellowship directors and colleagues more than on postings. Optometrists in the practice also shape a candidate's view, since they send much of the surgical work.
Job boards that carry ophthalmology
| Board | Specialties | How it charges | Price as recorded | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CareerMD | All specialties | Free | Free | CareerMD job database page |
| DocCafe | All specialties | Price on request | Quote on request | DocCafe employer FAQ |
| Doximity Talent Finder | All specialties | Price on request | Quote on request | Doximity Talent Finder page |
| Health eCareers | All specialties | Price on request | Not shown on its pages | Health eCareers employer store |
| HospitalRecruiting | All specialties | Per posting | $150 per 90-day posting | HospitalRecruiting pricing page |
| Indeed | All specialties | Free, with paid options | Free post; Sponsored Job budget set per job | Indeed pricing page |
| JAMA Career Center | All specialties | Per posting | $533 per 30-day posting | JAMA Career Center pricing page |
| LinkedIn Jobs | All specialties | Price on request | Varies; not listed | LinkedIn post jobs page |
| NEJM CareerCenter | All specialties | Per posting | $775 per 30-day posting | NEJM CareerCenter pricing page |
| PhysEmp | All specialties | Subscription | $150 per month | PhysEmp post a job page |
| PracticeLink | All specialties | Price on request | Quote on request | PracticeLink job posting page |
| PracticeMatch | All specialties | Per posting | $299 per 30-day posting | PracticeMatch job posting page |
| ZipRecruiter | All specialties | Price on request | Not listed | ZipRecruiter plans page |
Every board’s listing, with its posting lengths and how CV access is sold, is in the job board directory; what a physician job posting costs compares them.
Locum tenens agencies that place physicians in every specialty
| Agency | Specialties as the agency states them | How it charges | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| All Star Healthcare Solutions | More than 85 specialties | Price on request | All Star Healthcare Solutions home page |
| Alumni Healthcare Staffing | Not stated | Price on request | Alumni Healthcare Staffing page for facilities |
| AMN Healthcare | Not stated | Price on request | AMN Healthcare locum tenens staffing page |
| Aya Locums | Not stated | Price on request | Aya Locums home page |
| Barton Associates | 12 specialties and 149 subspecialties | Price on request | Barton Associates home page |
| CompHealth | Not stated | Price on request | CompHealth page for employers |
| Consilium Staffing | Anesthesiology, cardiology, emergency medicine, family medicine, gastroenterology, hospital medicine, internal medicine, neurology, OB-GYN and more | Price on request | Consilium Staffing home page |
| Hayes Locums | Not stated | Price on request | Hayes Locums page for medical facilities |
| Interim Physicians | Not stated | Price on request | Interim Physicians coverage request page |
| Jackson and Coker | Virtually every major specialty; more than 1,500 placements a year, as it states | Price on request | Jackson and Coker home page |
| LocumTenens.com | More than 60 physician specialties | Free, with paid options | LocumTenens.com physician staffing page |
| Medicus Healthcare Solutions | Not stated | Price on request | Medicus Healthcare Solutions home page |
| VISTA Staffing Solutions | Over 60 specialties | Price on request | VISTA Staffing Solutions home page |
| Wapiti Medical Staffing | Physicians (MD and DO), physician assistants and other clinicians | Price on request | Wapiti Medical Staffing home page |
| Weatherby Healthcare | More than 100 specialties | Price on request | Weatherby Healthcare home page |
The locum agency directory has each agency’s states, malpractice coverage and physician pay where it states them.
What does an open ophthalmology position cost?
The worked example
The recruitment cost calculator’s own example with ophthalmology chosen: a position open 120 days, a locum covering 60 of them at 40 hours a week, one posting on each of CareerMD, DocCafe, NEJM CareerCenter and PracticeMatch for the whole time, and a contingency agency as well.
- Revenue the empty schedule does not bring in
- $236,748 (estimate from AMN Healthcare (Merritt Hawkins), 2019)
- Locum cover, physician pay only
- $60,000 to $94,286 (estimate from Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025)
- Agency fee
- $60,930 to $91,395 (estimate from MedStaff Nationwide, 2026)
- Job board spend
- $4,296, plus a quote
- Total, boards and agency
- $361,974 to $426,725 (estimate from AMN Healthcare (Merritt Hawkins), 2019; Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025; MedStaff Nationwide, 2026)
The total leaves out one board priced by quote: the calculator has no published figure there for ophthalmology, so it asks for yours.
Figures from the recruitment cost calculator, with each published figure’s publisher and year beside it; the days, the locum cover and the boards are the calculator’s example choices, not a recommendation.
What the calculator has for ophthalmology
- Revenue one physician brings in: $1,440,217 a year (estimate, AMN Healthcare (Merritt Hawkins), 2019)
- Locum pay: $175 to $275 an hour (estimate, Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025)
- First-year pay: $304,650 a year (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2025)
- Contingency agency fee: 20 to 30% of first-year pay (estimate, MedStaff Nationwide, 2026)
For ophthalmology the calculator's hospital revenue estimate is $1,440,217 (estimate, AMN Healthcare (Merritt Hawkins), 2019) a year. Much eye surgery happens in surgery centers and offices rather than hospitals, so a practice should enter its own collections for a realistic figure.
Locum ophthalmologists are paid $175 to $275 (estimate, Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025) an hour. A retina vacancy has an urgent edge: patients on regular injections cannot simply wait, and the practice may have to refer them to a competitor.
Which recruiting channels work for ophthalmology?
Small fellowship classes and close networks mean personal outreach does most of the work. A practice that explains its surgery schedule, technicians and optometry referral base gives candidates what they need to compare offers. Technician staffing deserves a line too, since a surgeon without enough technicians cannot keep a busy clinic moving.
Verified
The channels that fit, compared
| Channel | What it costs | What to decide |
|---|---|---|
| Residency and fellowship outreach | Partner relationships with programs and visits; no fee | Which subspecialty the practice needs, and which programs train it. |
| General physician boards | HospitalRecruiting: $150 per 90-day posting | Whether a long, low-cost posting is worth running alongside personal outreach. |
| Contingency search firm | 20 to 30% of first-year pay (estimate, MedStaff Nationwide, 2026) | Whether a retina or glaucoma specialist justifies a fee. |
| Locum cover | $175 to $275 an hour paid to the physician (estimate, Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025), plus the agency's margin | Whether a locum can keep injection and clinic schedules running. |
Questions to ask
- How many surgery days a month would the new ophthalmologist have?
- Which subspecialty is short, and how long is that waiting list?
- How are optical, drug and surgery center revenues shared?
- Has the practice been approached by investors, and will you say so to candidates?
Which rules bite ophthalmology recruiting?
Surgery center ownership, comanagement with optometrists and drug revenue all sit near the federal referral rules.
Every federal rule this site cites, grouped by what a practice or recruiter is doing, is on the federal rules page. For the contract itself (pay models, tail coverage, restrictive covenants), read the physician employment contract, clause by clause. These notes describe the rules and cite them; they are not legal advice for a particular offer or contract.
Questions recruiters ask about ophthalmologists.
How long does it take to recruit an ophthalmologist?
For a fellow, start early in the fellowship year. Experienced ophthalmologists usually move after a sale or a contract ends, so a search can take a year or more.
What does an ophthalmology recruiter charge?
The calculator uses 20 to 30% (estimate, MedStaff Nationwide, 2026) of first-year pay for a contingency search. Platforms tend to recruit in-house, and independent practices mostly rely on their own networks.
Where do ophthalmologists look for jobs?
Through program faculty and colleagues, and on the general boards compared in the job board directory.
Sources
Job board and agency facts are cited row by row in their tables. The guide was last checked on .
- FTC: Chairman Ferguson issues noncompete warning letters to healthcare employers and staffing companies read
- HHS-OIG: A roadmap for new physicians, fraud and abuse laws read
- CMS: Physician Self-Referral read
- May 2025 National Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates, Excel file (oesm25nat.zip), U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics read
- May 2025 State Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates, Excel file (oesm25st.zip), U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics read
- Merritt Hawkins 2019 Physician Inpatient/Outpatient Revenue Survey (PDF) read
- Locumstory: locum tenens trends by specialty read
- MedStaff Nationwide: how much do physician recruiters charge? read