Recruiting guide
Recruiting a radiologist.
A radiologist needs a workstation and a network connection, not a particular hospital. That has reshaped radiology recruiting: groups now compete with teleradiology companies offering remote work, and with investor-backed practices offering a payout.
Verified
What does a radiologist earn?
- Mean annual wage
- $381,530
- Median annual wage
- $420,860
- Employed nationally
- 26,770
Radiologists (SOC 29-1224), BLS, May 2025 release, published May 15, 2026: May 2025 National Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates, Excel file (oesm25nat.zip), U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Verified
Highest mean wage, by state
| State | Mean annual wage | Employment |
|---|---|---|
| North Dakota | $556,170 | 120 |
| South Dakota | $534,640 | 70 |
| Minnesota | $527,740 | 440 |
Verified
Most employed, by state
| State | Employment | Mean annual wage |
|---|---|---|
| Texas | 2,330 | $292,220 |
| New York | 2,010 | $336,460 |
| Florida | 1,680 | $434,010 |
Ranked among the states and the District of Columbia where BLS publishes both the mean wage and the employment figure; 28 of the 51 are left out because BLS withholds or top-codes a figure or has no row. The radiology salary page has every state, the metro areas and BLS’s caveats.
Radiologists show a BLS mean of $381,530 (BLS, May 2025 release) a year and a median of $420,860 (BLS, May 2025 release), with around 26,770 (BLS, May 2025 release) on payrolls. Diagnostic and interventional radiologists are counted together.
Private groups offer a salary on a partnership track, with partners sharing the professional fees from their hospital contracts and outpatient imaging. Teleradiology jobs often pay per study read or per shift, and candidates compare them on volume expectations, the mix of studies and how much of the work is overnight.
Where do radiologists look for jobs?
- Where new hires come from
- Most new hires finish a fellowship after residency
- Who employs them
- Private radiology groups with hospital and imaging center contracts, investor-backed radiology platforms, teleradiology companies, hospital-employed departments and academic centers.
- Who you compete with for candidates
- Teleradiology companies offering fully remote work, and platforms that buy practices and offer equity, which pull both new graduates and partners away from independent groups.
Almost every radiology resident completes a fellowship, in neuroradiology, body imaging, breast imaging, musculoskeletal or interventional radiology, and the group's hospital contracts decide which fellowship it needs. Fellows sign about a year before they finish.
Many radiologists hear of openings through fellowship directors and the radiologists they trained with. When a group does post, a line saying how much of the work can be read remotely draws attention at once.
Job boards that carry radiology
| Board | Specialties | How it charges | Price as recorded | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CareerMD | All specialties | Free | Free | CareerMD job database page |
| DocCafe | All specialties | Price on request | Quote on request | DocCafe employer FAQ |
| Doximity Talent Finder | All specialties | Price on request | Quote on request | Doximity Talent Finder page |
| Health eCareers | All specialties | Price on request | Not shown on its pages | Health eCareers employer store |
| HospitalRecruiting | All specialties | Per posting | $150 per 90-day posting | HospitalRecruiting pricing page |
| Indeed | All specialties | Free, with paid options | Free post; Sponsored Job budget set per job | Indeed pricing page |
| JAMA Career Center | All specialties | Per posting | $533 per 30-day posting | JAMA Career Center pricing page |
| LinkedIn Jobs | All specialties | Price on request | Varies; not listed | LinkedIn post jobs page |
| NEJM CareerCenter | All specialties | Per posting | $775 per 30-day posting | NEJM CareerCenter pricing page |
| PhysEmp | All specialties | Subscription | $150 per month | PhysEmp post a job page |
| PracticeLink | All specialties | Price on request | Quote on request | PracticeLink job posting page |
| PracticeMatch | All specialties | Per posting | $299 per 30-day posting | PracticeMatch job posting page |
| ZipRecruiter | All specialties | Price on request | Not listed | ZipRecruiter plans page |
Every board’s listing, with its posting lengths and how CV access is sold, is in the job board directory; what a physician job posting costs compares them.
Locum tenens agencies that place physicians in every specialty
| Agency | Specialties as the agency states them | How it charges | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| All Star Healthcare Solutions | More than 85 specialties | Price on request | All Star Healthcare Solutions home page |
| Alumni Healthcare Staffing | Not stated | Price on request | Alumni Healthcare Staffing page for facilities |
| AMN Healthcare | Not stated | Price on request | AMN Healthcare locum tenens staffing page |
| Aya Locums | Not stated | Price on request | Aya Locums home page |
| Barton Associates | 12 specialties and 149 subspecialties | Price on request | Barton Associates home page |
| CompHealth | Not stated | Price on request | CompHealth page for employers |
| Consilium Staffing | Anesthesiology, cardiology, emergency medicine, family medicine, gastroenterology, hospital medicine, internal medicine, neurology, OB-GYN and more | Price on request | Consilium Staffing home page |
| Hayes Locums | Not stated | Price on request | Hayes Locums page for medical facilities |
| Interim Physicians | Not stated | Price on request | Interim Physicians coverage request page |
| Jackson and Coker | Virtually every major specialty; more than 1,500 placements a year, as it states | Price on request | Jackson and Coker home page |
| LocumTenens.com | More than 60 physician specialties | Free, with paid options | LocumTenens.com physician staffing page |
| Medicus Healthcare Solutions | Not stated | Price on request | Medicus Healthcare Solutions home page |
| VISTA Staffing Solutions | Over 60 specialties | Price on request | VISTA Staffing Solutions home page |
| Wapiti Medical Staffing | Physicians (MD and DO), physician assistants and other clinicians | Price on request | Wapiti Medical Staffing home page |
| Weatherby Healthcare | More than 100 specialties | Price on request | Weatherby Healthcare home page |
The locum agency directory has each agency’s states, malpractice coverage and physician pay where it states them.
What does an open radiology position cost?
The worked example
The recruitment cost calculator’s own example with radiology chosen: a position open 120 days, a locum covering 60 of them at 40 hours a week, one posting on each of CareerMD, DocCafe, NEJM CareerCenter and PracticeMatch for the whole time, and a contingency agency as well.
- Revenue the empty schedule does not bring in
- No published figure: needs yours
- Locum cover, physician pay only
- $109,714 to $123,429 (estimate from Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025)
- Agency fee
- $76,306 to $114,459 (estimate from MedStaff Nationwide, 2026)
- Job board spend
- $4,296, plus a quote
- Total, boards and agency
- $190,316 to $242,184 (estimate from Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025; MedStaff Nationwide, 2026)
The total leaves out the revenue the empty schedule does not bring in and one board priced by quote: the calculator has no published figure there for radiology, so it asks for yours.
Figures from the recruitment cost calculator, with each published figure’s publisher and year beside it; the days, the locum cover and the boards are the calculator’s example choices, not a recommendation.
What the calculator has for radiology
- Revenue one physician brings in: no published figure, so you supply the annual revenue one physician in the specialty brings your organization
- Locum pay: $320 to $360 an hour (estimate, Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025)
- First-year pay: $381,530 a year (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2025)
- Contingency agency fee: 20 to 30% of first-year pay (estimate, MedStaff Nationwide, 2026)
No revenue figure per radiologist is published in the calculator, so the worked example leaves that line to you: the professional fees the position would read, plus what is at stake in the contracts it supports. Turnaround times that slip are what hospitals notice first.
Locum and teleradiology cover cost $320 to $360 (estimate, Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025) an hour in physician pay, and many groups also send overnight reads to a teleradiology company under a contract. Both keep studies read; neither keeps the group visible to the hospital's medical staff.
Which recruiting channels work for radiology?
Flexibility decides searches now. Groups that offer some remote reading days, a fair overnight model and a real partnership track still fill positions against teleradiology; groups that offer none of these struggle.
Verified
The channels that fit, compared
| Channel | What it costs | What to decide |
|---|---|---|
| Fellowship program outreach | Partner relationships with program directors; no fee | Which subspecialties your contracts need, and how early to contact the fellows. |
| Teleradiology or locum cover | $320 to $360 an hour paid to the physician (estimate, Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025), plus the agency's margin | Which studies and hours to send out while you recruit, and whether that becomes permanent. |
| General physician boards | NEJM CareerCenter: $775 per 30-day posting | Whether to advertise remote and hybrid options in the posting. |
| Retained or contingency search | 20 to 30% of first-year pay (estimate, MedStaff Nationwide, 2026) | Whether to pay for a search to reach practicing subspecialists who are not looking. |
Questions to ask
- How many days a week could the new radiologist read from home?
- Who covers overnight reads, and is that shared or sent out?
- Which subspecialties do your hospital contracts require?
- Is a sale of the group being discussed, and will you disclose it to candidates?
Which rules bite radiology recruiting?
Imaging is one of the designated health services in the self-referral law, and radiology groups contract with the hospitals and referring physicians whose orders they read, so compensation design matters.
Every federal rule this site cites, grouped by what a practice or recruiter is doing, is on the federal rules page. For the contract itself (pay models, tail coverage, restrictive covenants), read the physician employment contract, clause by clause. These notes describe the rules and cite them; they are not legal advice for a particular offer or contract.
Questions recruiters ask about radiologists.
How long does it take to recruit a radiologist?
Fellows commit about a year ahead of finishing, so start early in their fellowship year. Hiring a practicing subspecialist can take longer, and remote options shorten the search by widening the pool beyond your city.
What does a radiology recruiter charge?
The calculator prices a contingency search at 20 to 30% (estimate, MedStaff Nationwide, 2026) of first-year pay. Teleradiology companies may offer coverage contracts instead, which bill per study rather than per hire.
Where do radiologists look for jobs?
Through fellowship directors and colleagues, from teleradiology companies that recruit directly, and on the general boards in the job board directory.
Sources
Job board and agency facts are cited row by row in their tables. The guide was last checked on .
- FTC: Chairman Ferguson issues noncompete warning letters to healthcare employers and staffing companies read
- HHS-OIG: A roadmap for new physicians, fraud and abuse laws read
- CMS: Physician Self-Referral read
- FDA: Mammography Quality Standards Act (MQSA) and MQSA program read
- May 2025 National Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates, Excel file (oesm25nat.zip), U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics read
- May 2025 State Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates, Excel file (oesm25st.zip), U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics read
- Locumstory: locum tenens trends by specialty read
- MedStaff Nationwide: how much do physician recruiters charge? read