Recruiting guide
Recruiting a cardiologist.
Nobody hires a cardiologist in general. A hospital needs an interventionalist to keep the catheterization lab on call, an electrophysiologist for its ablation program, or a general cardiologist to see the referrals its primary care network sends, and each comes from a different fellowship.
Verified
What does a cardiologist earn?
- Mean annual wage
- $454,940
- Median annual wage
- $496,010
- Employed nationally
- 17,290
Cardiologists (SOC 29-1212), BLS, May 2025 release, published May 15, 2026: May 2025 National Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates, Excel file (oesm25nat.zip), U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Verified
Highest mean wage, by state
| State | Mean annual wage | Employment |
|---|---|---|
| Nebraska | $627,390 | 170 |
| Georgia | $616,040 | 1,150 |
| Washington | $562,160 | 200 |
Verified
Most employed, by state
| State | Employment | Mean annual wage |
|---|---|---|
| New York | 2,260 | $437,490 |
| Texas | 2,050 | $386,680 |
| Georgia | 1,150 | $616,040 |
Ranked among the states and the District of Columbia where BLS publishes both the mean wage and the employment figure; 31 of the 51 are left out because BLS withholds or top-codes a figure or has no row. The cardiology salary page has every state, the metro areas and BLS’s caveats.
The BLS figures for cardiologists: a mean of $454,940 (BLS, May 2025 release) a year, a median of $496,010 (BLS, May 2025 release), and roughly 17,290 (BLS, May 2025 release) employed. The occupation lumps the subspecialties together, so the mean hides a wide spread between a general cardiologist in a clinic and an interventionalist who takes call for the lab.
Hospital offers are usually a guaranteed salary that converts to pay per work unit, with call stipends and a medical directorship for some. Private groups that remain independent offer partnership, often with a share of outpatient imaging or an ambulatory facility.
Where do cardiologists look for jobs?
- Where new hires come from
- Most new hires finish a fellowship after residency
- Who employs them
- Hospital-employed cardiology groups, academic medical centers, the remaining independent cardiology practices, and multispecialty groups.
- Who you compete with for candidates
- Health systems building heart programs that can offer a new lab or a structural heart team, and academic centers that offer protected research time.
General cardiology fellows finish after internal medicine residency and a cardiology fellowship; interventional, electrophysiology and advanced imaging candidates add another year or more. Each group of fellows is small, and program directors know who is looking and where they want to live.
The American College of Cardiology runs its own career center, where fellowship postings stay up longer than regular ones. Experienced cardiologists rarely answer ads; they move when a hospital acquisition, a call schedule or a lab closure changes the job they have.
-
ACC Career Center Per posting
$499 per 30-day posting
The cardiology society's own board, with a published posting price and a longer run for fellowship positions. Describe the subspecialty and the lab in the first line.
Job boards that carry cardiology
| Board | Specialties | How it charges | Price as recorded | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ACC Career Center | Cardiology only | Per posting | $499 per 30-day posting | ACC Career Center products and pricing page |
| CareerMD | All specialties | Free | Free | CareerMD job database page |
| DocCafe | All specialties | Price on request | Quote on request | DocCafe employer FAQ |
| Doximity Talent Finder | All specialties | Price on request | Quote on request | Doximity Talent Finder page |
| Health eCareers | All specialties | Price on request | Not shown on its pages | Health eCareers employer store |
| HospitalRecruiting | All specialties | Per posting | $150 per 90-day posting | HospitalRecruiting pricing page |
| Indeed | All specialties | Free, with paid options | Free post; Sponsored Job budget set per job | Indeed pricing page |
| JAMA Career Center | All specialties | Per posting | $533 per 30-day posting | JAMA Career Center pricing page |
| LinkedIn Jobs | All specialties | Price on request | Varies; not listed | LinkedIn post jobs page |
| NEJM CareerCenter | All specialties | Per posting | $775 per 30-day posting | NEJM CareerCenter pricing page |
| PhysEmp | All specialties | Subscription | $150 per month | PhysEmp post a job page |
| PracticeLink | All specialties | Price on request | Quote on request | PracticeLink job posting page |
| PracticeMatch | All specialties | Per posting | $299 per 30-day posting | PracticeMatch job posting page |
| ZipRecruiter | All specialties | Price on request | Not listed | ZipRecruiter plans page |
Every board’s listing, with its posting lengths and how CV access is sold, is in the job board directory; what a physician job posting costs compares them.
Locum tenens agencies that place physicians in every specialty
| Agency | Specialties as the agency states them | How it charges | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| All Star Healthcare Solutions | More than 85 specialties | Price on request | All Star Healthcare Solutions home page |
| Alumni Healthcare Staffing | Not stated | Price on request | Alumni Healthcare Staffing page for facilities |
| AMN Healthcare | Not stated | Price on request | AMN Healthcare locum tenens staffing page |
| Aya Locums | Not stated | Price on request | Aya Locums home page |
| Barton Associates | 12 specialties and 149 subspecialties | Price on request | Barton Associates home page |
| CompHealth | Not stated | Price on request | CompHealth page for employers |
| Consilium Staffing | Anesthesiology, cardiology, emergency medicine, family medicine, gastroenterology, hospital medicine, internal medicine, neurology, OB-GYN and more | Price on request | Consilium Staffing home page |
| Hayes Locums | Not stated | Price on request | Hayes Locums page for medical facilities |
| Interim Physicians | Not stated | Price on request | Interim Physicians coverage request page |
| Jackson and Coker | Virtually every major specialty; more than 1,500 placements a year, as it states | Price on request | Jackson and Coker home page |
| LocumTenens.com | More than 60 physician specialties | Free, with paid options | LocumTenens.com physician staffing page |
| Medicus Healthcare Solutions | Not stated | Price on request | Medicus Healthcare Solutions home page |
| VISTA Staffing Solutions | Over 60 specialties | Price on request | VISTA Staffing Solutions home page |
| Wapiti Medical Staffing | Physicians (MD and DO), physician assistants and other clinicians | Price on request | Wapiti Medical Staffing home page |
| Weatherby Healthcare | More than 100 specialties | Price on request | Weatherby Healthcare home page |
The locum agency directory has each agency’s states, malpractice coverage and physician pay where it states them.
What does an open cardiology position cost?
The worked example
The recruitment cost calculator’s own example with cardiology chosen: a position open 120 days, a locum covering 60 of them at 40 hours a week, one posting on each of CareerMD, DocCafe, NEJM CareerCenter and PracticeMatch for the whole time, and a contingency agency as well.
- Revenue the empty schedule does not bring in
- $379,726 to $572,774 (estimate from AMN Healthcare (Merritt Hawkins), 2019)
- Locum cover, physician pay only
- $94,286 to $128,571 (estimate from Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025)
- Agency fee
- $90,988 to $136,482 (estimate from MedStaff Nationwide, 2026)
- Job board spend
- $4,296, plus a quote
- Total, boards and agency
- $569,296 to $842,123 (estimate from AMN Healthcare (Merritt Hawkins), 2019; Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025; MedStaff Nationwide, 2026)
The total leaves out one board priced by quote: the calculator has no published figure there for cardiology, so it asks for yours.
Figures from the recruitment cost calculator, with each published figure’s publisher and year beside it; the days, the locum cover and the boards are the calculator’s example choices, not a recommendation.
What the calculator has for cardiology
- Revenue one physician brings in: $2,310,000 to $3,484,375 a year (estimate, AMN Healthcare (Merritt Hawkins), 2019)
- Locum pay: $275 to $375 an hour (estimate, Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025)
- First-year pay: $454,940 a year (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2025)
- Contingency agency fee: 20 to 30% of first-year pay (estimate, MedStaff Nationwide, 2026)
The calculator's revenue figure for cardiology is a range, $2,310,000 to $3,484,375 (estimate, AMN Healthcare (Merritt Hawkins), 2019) a year to the affiliated hospital, running from noninvasive to invasive cardiologists in the survey it comes from. That revenue is the hospital's tests, procedures and admissions, which is why hospitals recruit cardiologists so hard; an independent practice should use its own collections instead.
Locum cardiologists cost $275 to $375 (estimate, Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025) an hour in physician pay. An interventional vacancy can also mean the lab cannot keep its call schedule, so heart attack patients are sent to another hospital, a cost the calculator does not price.
Which recruiting channels work for cardiology?
Start from the subspecialty. The channel that finds a general cardiologist for a satellite clinic is not the one that finds an electrophysiologist for an ablation program, and the timelines differ by a year or more.
Verified
The channels that fit, compared
| Channel | What it costs | What to decide |
|---|---|---|
| The cardiology society's career center | ACC Career Center: $499 per 30-day posting | Whether to post for fellows early in their final year, when they decide. |
| Fellowship program outreach | Faculty relationships and visits to programs; no fee | Which programs train the subspecialty you need, and who on your staff can speak for the lab or the program. |
| Retained search | 20 to 30% of first-year pay (estimate, MedStaff Nationwide, 2026) | Whether a program-defining hire such as a structural heart or electrophysiology lead justifies a retainer. |
| Locum-to-permanent | $275 to $375 an hour paid to the physician (estimate, Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025), plus the agency's margin | Whether a locum covering clinic and call could become the permanent hire, and what the agency charges to convert. |
Questions to ask
- Which subspecialty does the position need, and could a general cardiologist fill it at all?
- How is call for the catheterization lab shared today, and what changes with the new hire?
- Is a directorship part of the offer, with written duties and hours?
- What does the hospital's equipment and lab plan look like over the next few years?
Which rules bite cardiology recruiting?
Cardiologists order tests and admissions that hospitals bill, and they work with device companies. That puts their pay, their directorships and their industry ties under the federal referral and disclosure rules.
Every federal rule this site cites, grouped by what a practice or recruiter is doing, is on the federal rules page. For the contract itself (pay models, tail coverage, restrictive covenants), read the physician employment contract, clause by clause. These notes describe the rules and cite them; they are not legal advice for a particular offer or contract.
Questions recruiters ask about cardiologists.
How long does it take to recruit a cardiologist?
Fellows commit about a year before they finish, so a search for one starts early in the final fellowship year. An experienced interventional or electrophysiology hire can take longer, because those candidates are few and usually under contract.
What does a cardiology recruiter charge?
The calculator uses 20 to 30% (estimate, MedStaff Nationwide, 2026) of first-year pay for a contingency search. For leaders of a program, hospitals often use a retained firm, which bills in stages whether or not the search succeeds.
Where do cardiologists look for jobs?
On the American College of Cardiology's career center, through fellowship directors, and on the general physician boards compared in the job board directory.
Sources
Job board and agency facts are cited row by row in their tables. The guide was last checked on .
- FTC: Chairman Ferguson issues noncompete warning letters to healthcare employers and staffing companies read
- HHS-OIG: A roadmap for new physicians, fraud and abuse laws read
- CMS: Physician Self-Referral read
- CMS: Open Payments read
- May 2025 National Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates, Excel file (oesm25nat.zip), U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics read
- May 2025 State Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates, Excel file (oesm25st.zip), U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics read
- Merritt Hawkins 2019 Physician Inpatient/Outpatient Revenue Survey (PDF) read
- Locumstory: locum tenens trends by specialty read
- MedStaff Nationwide: how much do physician recruiters charge? read