Recruiting guide
Recruiting an orthopedic surgeon.
An orthopedic candidate asks three questions before salary: how much operating room time, whether there is a surgery center to own part of, and how often trauma call comes around. Independent groups, hospitals and investor-backed platforms answer them differently.
Verified
What does an orthopedic surgeon earn?
- Mean annual wage
- $373,570
- Median annual wage
- $358,550
- Employed nationally
- 14,100
Orthopedic Surgeons, Except Pediatric (SOC 29-1242), BLS, May 2025 release, published May 15, 2026: May 2025 National Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates, Excel file (oesm25nat.zip), U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Verified
Highest mean wage, by state
| State | Mean annual wage | Employment |
|---|---|---|
| Minnesota | $592,220 | 320 |
| Arizona | $542,140 | 110 |
| Wisconsin | $535,750 | 290 |
Verified
Most employed, by state
| State | Employment | Mean annual wage |
|---|---|---|
| New York | 1,450 | $364,520 |
| Florida | 580 | $462,360 |
| North Carolina | 560 | $372,620 |
Ranked among the states and the District of Columbia where BLS publishes both the mean wage and the employment figure; 26 of the 51 are left out because BLS withholds or top-codes a figure or has no row. The orthopedic surgery salary page has every state, the metro areas and BLS’s caveats.
In the BLS survey, orthopedic surgeons other than pediatric ones average $373,570 (BLS, May 2025 release) a year, with a median of $358,550 (BLS, May 2025 release) and about 14,100 (BLS, May 2025 release) on payrolls. Surgeons who own their unincorporated practice are left out, so the figures lean toward employed surgeons.
Offers usually start with a salary guarantee and move to production pay, with ancillary income from imaging, physical therapy or a surgery center for partners. Call pay for trauma coverage is a separate line, and its terms vary more than the salary does.
Where do orthopedic surgeons look for jobs?
- Where new hires come from
- Most new hires finish a fellowship after residency
- Who employs them
- Independent orthopedic groups, investor-backed orthopedic platforms, hospital-employed groups, academic departments and multispecialty clinics.
- Who you compete with for candidates
- Hospitals offering guaranteed salaries and trauma stipends, platforms offering equity, and large independent groups that own surgery centers.
Nearly all orthopedic residents complete a fellowship in sports medicine, joint replacement, spine, hand, trauma or another area, so the group decides which fellowship it needs before it recruits. Fellows sign about a year ahead.
Most searches run through fellowship directors and through surgeons who trained with the group's partners; a posting on a general board is a supplement to that, not a substitute.
Job boards that carry orthopedic surgery
| Board | Specialties | How it charges | Price as recorded | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CareerMD | All specialties | Free | Free | CareerMD job database page |
| DocCafe | All specialties | Price on request | Quote on request | DocCafe employer FAQ |
| Doximity Talent Finder | All specialties | Price on request | Quote on request | Doximity Talent Finder page |
| Health eCareers | All specialties | Price on request | Not shown on its pages | Health eCareers employer store |
| HospitalRecruiting | All specialties | Per posting | $150 per 90-day posting | HospitalRecruiting pricing page |
| Indeed | All specialties | Free, with paid options | Free post; Sponsored Job budget set per job | Indeed pricing page |
| JAMA Career Center | All specialties | Per posting | $533 per 30-day posting | JAMA Career Center pricing page |
| LinkedIn Jobs | All specialties | Price on request | Varies; not listed | LinkedIn post jobs page |
| NEJM CareerCenter | All specialties | Per posting | $775 per 30-day posting | NEJM CareerCenter pricing page |
| PhysEmp | All specialties | Subscription | $150 per month | PhysEmp post a job page |
| PracticeLink | All specialties | Price on request | Quote on request | PracticeLink job posting page |
| PracticeMatch | All specialties | Per posting | $299 per 30-day posting | PracticeMatch job posting page |
| ZipRecruiter | All specialties | Price on request | Not listed | ZipRecruiter plans page |
Every board’s listing, with its posting lengths and how CV access is sold, is in the job board directory; what a physician job posting costs compares them.
Locum tenens agencies that place physicians in every specialty
| Agency | Specialties as the agency states them | How it charges | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| All Star Healthcare Solutions | More than 85 specialties | Price on request | All Star Healthcare Solutions home page |
| Alumni Healthcare Staffing | Not stated | Price on request | Alumni Healthcare Staffing page for facilities |
| AMN Healthcare | Not stated | Price on request | AMN Healthcare locum tenens staffing page |
| Aya Locums | Not stated | Price on request | Aya Locums home page |
| Barton Associates | 12 specialties and 149 subspecialties | Price on request | Barton Associates home page |
| CompHealth | Not stated | Price on request | CompHealth page for employers |
| Consilium Staffing | Anesthesiology, cardiology, emergency medicine, family medicine, gastroenterology, hospital medicine, internal medicine, neurology, OB-GYN and more | Price on request | Consilium Staffing home page |
| Hayes Locums | Not stated | Price on request | Hayes Locums page for medical facilities |
| Interim Physicians | Not stated | Price on request | Interim Physicians coverage request page |
| Jackson and Coker | Virtually every major specialty; more than 1,500 placements a year, as it states | Price on request | Jackson and Coker home page |
| LocumTenens.com | More than 60 physician specialties | Free, with paid options | LocumTenens.com physician staffing page |
| Medicus Healthcare Solutions | Not stated | Price on request | Medicus Healthcare Solutions home page |
| VISTA Staffing Solutions | Over 60 specialties | Price on request | VISTA Staffing Solutions home page |
| Wapiti Medical Staffing | Physicians (MD and DO), physician assistants and other clinicians | Price on request | Wapiti Medical Staffing home page |
| Weatherby Healthcare | More than 100 specialties | Price on request | Weatherby Healthcare home page |
The locum agency directory has each agency’s states, malpractice coverage and physician pay where it states them.
What does an open orthopedic position cost?
The worked example
The recruitment cost calculator’s own example with orthopedic surgery chosen: a position open 120 days, a locum covering 60 of them at 40 hours a week, one posting on each of CareerMD, DocCafe, NEJM CareerCenter and PracticeMatch for the whole time, and a contingency agency as well.
- Revenue the empty schedule does not bring in
- $540,290 (estimate from AMN Healthcare (Merritt Hawkins), 2019)
- Locum cover, physician pay only
- $61,714 to $77,143 (estimate from Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025)
- Agency fee
- $74,714 to $112,071 (estimate from MedStaff Nationwide, 2026)
- Job board spend
- $4,296, plus a quote
- Total, boards and agency
- $681,014 to $733,800 (estimate from AMN Healthcare (Merritt Hawkins), 2019; Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025; MedStaff Nationwide, 2026)
The total leaves out one board priced by quote: the calculator has no published figure there for orthopedic surgery, so it asks for yours.
Figures from the recruitment cost calculator, with each published figure’s publisher and year beside it; the days, the locum cover and the boards are the calculator’s example choices, not a recommendation.
What the calculator has for orthopedic surgery
- Revenue one physician brings in: $3,286,764 a year (estimate, AMN Healthcare (Merritt Hawkins), 2019)
- Locum pay: $180 to $225 an hour (estimate, Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025)
- First-year pay: $373,570 a year (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2025)
- Contingency agency fee: 20 to 30% of first-year pay (estimate, MedStaff Nationwide, 2026)
Revenue to an affiliated hospital is published at $3,286,764 (estimate, AMN Healthcare (Merritt Hawkins), 2019) a year per orthopedic surgeon, one of the higher figures in that survey because joint replacement and spine cases fill operating rooms and beds. An independent group with its own surgery center loses facility revenue as well.
Locum orthopedic surgeons are paid $180 to $225 (estimate, Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025) an hour, and they help most with call and fracture care. Elective cases tend to wait for the permanent surgeon, and some patients go elsewhere rather than wait.
Which recruiting channels work for orthopedic surgery?
Write the offer around the operating room. Block time, clinic days, physician assistant support and the call rotation are what candidates compare between groups.
Verified
The channels that fit, compared
| Channel | What it costs | What to decide |
|---|---|---|
| Fellowship program outreach | Partner time with fellowship directors and visits; no fee | Which fellowship matches the cases the group is losing or turning away. |
| Locum cover for call | $180 to $225 an hour paid to the physician (estimate, Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025), plus the agency's margin | Whether locum surgeons can cover trauma call so partners do not burn out during the search. |
| Retained or contingency search | 20 to 30% of first-year pay (estimate, MedStaff Nationwide, 2026) | Whether an experienced subspecialist moving from another group justifies the fee. |
| General physician boards | JAMA Career Center: $533 per 30-day posting | Whether posting adds much to fellowship networks, or mostly announces that the group is hiring. |
Questions to ask
- How many operating room blocks a week will the new surgeon have in the first year?
- When does surgery center ownership become available, and at what price?
- How often is trauma call, and is it paid?
- Which fellowship does the practice actually need?
Which rules bite orthopedic recruiting?
Orthopedic offers mix professional pay, ancillary income and investment, and each of those has its own federal limits.
Every federal rule this site cites, grouped by what a practice or recruiter is doing, is on the federal rules page. For the contract itself (pay models, tail coverage, restrictive covenants), read the physician employment contract, clause by clause. These notes describe the rules and cite them; they are not legal advice for a particular offer or contract.
Questions recruiters ask about orthopedic surgeons.
How long does it take to recruit an orthopedic surgeon?
Most of a year for a fellow, who signs early in the fellowship year. An experienced surgeon's timing usually follows a covenant, an ownership vesting date or a contract renewal.
What does an orthopedic recruiter charge?
A contingency firm bills within the calculator's range of 20 to 30% (estimate, MedStaff Nationwide, 2026) of first-year pay, owed only when the surgeon signs. Given orthopedic pay, that is a large sum, which is why groups lean on fellowship networks first.
Where do orthopedic surgeons look for jobs?
Through fellowship directors and the surgeons who trained them, and on the general physician boards in the job board directory.
Sources
Job board and agency facts are cited row by row in their tables. The guide was last checked on .
- FTC: Chairman Ferguson issues noncompete warning letters to healthcare employers and staffing companies read
- HHS-OIG: A roadmap for new physicians, fraud and abuse laws read
- CMS: Physician Self-Referral read
- CMS: Open Payments read
- May 2025 National Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates, Excel file (oesm25nat.zip), U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics read
- May 2025 State Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates, Excel file (oesm25st.zip), U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics read
- Merritt Hawkins 2019 Physician Inpatient/Outpatient Revenue Survey (PDF) read
- Locumstory: locum tenens trends by specialty read
- MedStaff Nationwide: how much do physician recruiters charge? read
Related
Explore
- All recruiting guides by specialty
- Orthopedic surgery pay by state
- Physician recruitment cost calculator
- Physician job boards compared
- Locum tenens agencies compared
- The physician employment contract, clause by clause
- What a physician job posting costs
- Federal rules for physician advertising and recruiting