Recruiting guide
Recruiting a neurologist.
A stroke center needs a neurologist who can answer a call in minutes, and an outpatient clinic needs one who can see a waiting list of headaches, seizures and memory complaints. Hospitals often want both in one hire, and candidates rarely do.
Verified
What does a neurologist earn?
- Mean annual wage
- $267,630
- Median annual wage
- $248,560
- Employed nationally
- 10,590
Neurologists (SOC 29-1217), BLS, May 2025 release, published May 15, 2026: May 2025 National Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates, Excel file (oesm25nat.zip), U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Verified
Highest mean wage, by state
| State | Mean annual wage | Employment |
|---|---|---|
| Arizona | $358,190 | 80 |
| South Carolina | $354,250 | 40 |
| Vermont | $344,860 | 40 |
Verified
Most employed, by state
| State | Employment | Mean annual wage |
|---|---|---|
| New York | 2,810 | $204,900 |
| California | 1,090 | $306,860 |
| Texas | 660 | $325,270 |
Ranked among the states and the District of Columbia where BLS publishes both the mean wage and the employment figure; 28 of the 51 are left out because BLS withholds or top-codes a figure or has no row. The neurology salary page has every state, the metro areas and BLS’s caveats.
For neurologists, BLS reports a mean wage of $267,630 (BLS, May 2025 release) a year, a median of $248,560 (BLS, May 2025 release), and roughly 10,590 (BLS, May 2025 release) employed. Epileptologists and headache specialists are counted in the same occupation as general neurologists.
Hospital offers usually pair a salary with work unit incentives and a stipend for stroke or consult call. Outpatient roles depend on visit volume and on procedures such as electromyography and electroencephalography reading, which add income the base salary does not show.
Where do neurologists look for jobs?
- Where new hires come from
- New hires come from residency or after a fellowship
- Who employs them
- Hospitals with stroke programs and neurohospitalist services, academic medical centers, neurology groups, multispecialty clinics and telestroke companies.
- Who you compete with for candidates
- Telestroke and teleneurology services offering remote call, academic centers with subspecialty clinics, and outpatient practices with no inpatient duties.
Residents finish neurology training and a large share take a fellowship in vascular neurology, epilepsy, neurophysiology, movement disorders or neuromuscular disease. Hospitals building stroke certification recruit vascular fellows a year before they finish.
Neurologists weigh the call model above almost everything else, and a posting that explains whether telestroke covers nights reaches more of them.
Job boards that carry neurology
| Board | Specialties | How it charges | Price as recorded | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CareerMD | All specialties | Free | Free | CareerMD job database page |
| DocCafe | All specialties | Price on request | Quote on request | DocCafe employer FAQ |
| Doximity Talent Finder | All specialties | Price on request | Quote on request | Doximity Talent Finder page |
| Health eCareers | All specialties | Price on request | Not shown on its pages | Health eCareers employer store |
| HospitalRecruiting | All specialties | Per posting | $150 per 90-day posting | HospitalRecruiting pricing page |
| Indeed | All specialties | Free, with paid options | Free post; Sponsored Job budget set per job | Indeed pricing page |
| JAMA Career Center | All specialties | Per posting | $533 per 30-day posting | JAMA Career Center pricing page |
| LinkedIn Jobs | All specialties | Price on request | Varies; not listed | LinkedIn post jobs page |
| NEJM CareerCenter | All specialties | Per posting | $775 per 30-day posting | NEJM CareerCenter pricing page |
| PhysEmp | All specialties | Subscription | $150 per month | PhysEmp post a job page |
| PracticeLink | All specialties | Price on request | Quote on request | PracticeLink job posting page |
| PracticeMatch | All specialties | Per posting | $299 per 30-day posting | PracticeMatch job posting page |
| ZipRecruiter | All specialties | Price on request | Not listed | ZipRecruiter plans page |
Every board’s listing, with its posting lengths and how CV access is sold, is in the job board directory; what a physician job posting costs compares them.
Locum tenens agencies that place physicians in every specialty
| Agency | Specialties as the agency states them | How it charges | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| All Star Healthcare Solutions | More than 85 specialties | Price on request | All Star Healthcare Solutions home page |
| Alumni Healthcare Staffing | Not stated | Price on request | Alumni Healthcare Staffing page for facilities |
| AMN Healthcare | Not stated | Price on request | AMN Healthcare locum tenens staffing page |
| Aya Locums | Not stated | Price on request | Aya Locums home page |
| Barton Associates | 12 specialties and 149 subspecialties | Price on request | Barton Associates home page |
| CompHealth | Not stated | Price on request | CompHealth page for employers |
| Consilium Staffing | Anesthesiology, cardiology, emergency medicine, family medicine, gastroenterology, hospital medicine, internal medicine, neurology, OB-GYN and more | Price on request | Consilium Staffing home page |
| Hayes Locums | Not stated | Price on request | Hayes Locums page for medical facilities |
| Interim Physicians | Not stated | Price on request | Interim Physicians coverage request page |
| Jackson and Coker | Virtually every major specialty; more than 1,500 placements a year, as it states | Price on request | Jackson and Coker home page |
| LocumTenens.com | More than 60 physician specialties | Free, with paid options | LocumTenens.com physician staffing page |
| Medicus Healthcare Solutions | Not stated | Price on request | Medicus Healthcare Solutions home page |
| VISTA Staffing Solutions | Over 60 specialties | Price on request | VISTA Staffing Solutions home page |
| Wapiti Medical Staffing | Physicians (MD and DO), physician assistants and other clinicians | Price on request | Wapiti Medical Staffing home page |
| Weatherby Healthcare | More than 100 specialties | Price on request | Weatherby Healthcare home page |
The locum agency directory has each agency’s states, malpractice coverage and physician pay where it states them.
What does an open neurology position cost?
The worked example
The recruitment cost calculator’s own example with neurology chosen: a position open 120 days, a locum covering 60 of them at 40 hours a week, one posting on each of CareerMD, DocCafe, NEJM CareerCenter and PracticeMatch for the whole time, and a contingency agency as well.
- Revenue the empty schedule does not bring in
- $337,460 (estimate from AMN Healthcare (Merritt Hawkins), 2019)
- Locum cover, physician pay only
- $77,143 to $111,429 (estimate from Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025)
- Agency fee
- $53,526 to $80,289 (estimate from MedStaff Nationwide, 2026)
- Job board spend
- $4,296, plus a quote
- Total, boards and agency
- $472,425 to $533,474 (estimate from AMN Healthcare (Merritt Hawkins), 2019; Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025; MedStaff Nationwide, 2026)
The total leaves out one board priced by quote: the calculator has no published figure there for neurology, so it asks for yours.
Figures from the recruitment cost calculator, with each published figure’s publisher and year beside it; the days, the locum cover and the boards are the calculator’s example choices, not a recommendation.
What the calculator has for neurology
- Revenue one physician brings in: $2,052,884 a year (estimate, AMN Healthcare (Merritt Hawkins), 2019)
- Locum pay: $225 to $325 an hour (estimate, Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025)
- First-year pay: $267,630 a year (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, 2025)
- Contingency agency fee: 20 to 30% of first-year pay (estimate, MedStaff Nationwide, 2026)
The calculator lists $2,052,884 (estimate, AMN Healthcare (Merritt Hawkins), 2019) a year to an affiliated hospital per neurologist, a survey estimate driven by imaging, admissions and procedures. An outpatient group should enter its own collections instead.
Locum neurologists are paid $225 to $325 (estimate, Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025) an hour. A stroke program that loses neurology coverage may have to transfer patients or lean on a telestroke contract until the seat is filled. Outpatient waits lengthen at the same time, and patients with a new seizure or sudden weakness end up in the emergency department instead of the clinic.
Which recruiting channels work for neurology?
Decide first whether the position is inpatient, outpatient or split. A hybrid role is the hardest to fill, and splitting it into a neurohospitalist job and a clinic job often fills both faster.
Verified
The channels that fit, compared
| Channel | What it costs | What to decide |
|---|---|---|
| Fellowship outreach | Faculty relationships and visits; no fee | Which fellowship the role needs, such as vascular neurology for a stroke program. |
| Telestroke contract | A coverage contract priced by the telestroke service | Whether remote stroke call makes the on-site position more attractive to candidates. |
| Locum cover | $225 to $325 an hour paid to the physician (estimate, Locumstory (CHG Healthcare), 2025), plus the agency's margin | Whether a locum covers consults and call while you search. |
| Contingency search firm | 20 to 30% of first-year pay (estimate, MedStaff Nationwide, 2026) | Whether an experienced subspecialist justifies the fee. |
Questions to ask
- Is the position inpatient, outpatient, or both, and does the posting say so?
- Who covers stroke call overnight?
- How long is the outpatient waiting list for a new patient?
- Which procedures would the neurologist read or perform?
Which rules bite neurology recruiting?
Neurologists order imaging and admit patients, both designated health services, so a hospital's offer must be built within the federal referral rules.
Every federal rule this site cites, grouped by what a practice or recruiter is doing, is on the federal rules page. For the contract itself (pay models, tail coverage, restrictive covenants), read the physician employment contract, clause by clause. These notes describe the rules and cite them; they are not legal advice for a particular offer or contract.
Questions recruiters ask about neurologists.
How long does it take to recruit a neurologist?
Many months for a general or hybrid position, and longer for a vascular or epilepsy specialist. Searches tied to fellowship completion should begin a year before the start date.
What does a neurology recruiter charge?
Contingency recruiters take a share of first-year pay, which the calculator puts at 20 to 30% (estimate, MedStaff Nationwide, 2026) of first-year pay. Telestroke services price their coverage separately and do not replace a permanent hire.
Where do neurologists look for jobs?
Through fellowship directors and colleagues, and on the general physician boards listed in the job board directory.
Sources
Job board and agency facts are cited row by row in their tables. The guide was last checked on .
- FTC: Chairman Ferguson issues noncompete warning letters to healthcare employers and staffing companies read
- HHS-OIG: A roadmap for new physicians, fraud and abuse laws read
- CMS: Physician Self-Referral read
- May 2025 National Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates, Excel file (oesm25nat.zip), U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics read
- May 2025 State Occupational Employment and Wage Estimates, Excel file (oesm25st.zip), U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics read
- Merritt Hawkins 2019 Physician Inpatient/Outpatient Revenue Survey (PDF) read
- Locumstory: locum tenens trends by specialty read
- MedStaff Nationwide: how much do physician recruiters charge? read